Skip Navigation LinksHome  >  Production  >  KwaZulu-Natal  


The province has three different geographic areas.  The lowland region, the central region, which is the Natal Midlands, and the third region, the mountainous areas, the Drakensberg Mountains in the west and the Lebombo Mountains in the north.  KwaZulu-Natal borders the countries of Mozambique, Swaziland and Lesotho.

The KwaZulu-Natal seed potato growing areas has a summer rainfall and dry land seed potato production does very well in the region.  The two main growing regions are the Kamberg in the Midlands, and Underberg region situated in the south-western parts of KwaZulu-Natal.  Seed potatoes are als produced in Louwsburg in the northern parts of KwaZulu-Natal.

The planting of seed potatoes starts from July up to December, but the main planting is from October to the ende of November.

Figure 1: Number of registered hectares planted with generation 0 to 7 seed potatoes, and the production of generation 1 - 8 and Standard Grade certified seed potatoes from these hectares for the KwaZulu-Natal region

Potatoes South Africa| Potato Laboratory Services| Prokon