Independent Certification Council for Seed Potatoes

The Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries designated the Independent Certification Council for Seed Potatoes (ICCSP) as the authority which shall exercise the powers, perform the functions and carry out the duties conferred upon, assigned to or imposed upon such authority under a scheme.  The Scheme is the South African Seed Potato Certification Scheme, established in terms of Section 23 (1) of the Plant Improvement Act, 1976 (Act No. 53 of 1976). 

The Council consists of democratically elected seed potato growers representative of the respective production areas, appointed table potato producers, as well as representatives of the Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, the Agricultural Research Council, a representative of the nucleus material producers, the Manager of Potato Laboratory Services and the Managing Director of Potato Certification Service.  The Council has an independent chairman appointed by the seed potato growers serving on the Council.

Composition of the Council

Council Member Position Representative of –
Dr. Dave Keetch Chairman Independent
Jakkie Mellet Member Mpumalanga
JJ van de Velde Member KwaZulu-Natal
Gerhard Posthumus Member Western Free State
Johan Greyling Member Western Free State
André Coetzee Member Northern Cape
Niekie Visser Member Sandveld
Llewellyn (Tiekie) de Kock Member Ceres
Frans Engelbrecht Member North West
Guybon Osler Member Eastern Free State
Garrick Christiane Member North Eastern Cape
Sanette Thiart Member Potato Certification Service
Marieta Botha Member Potato Laboratory Services
Diedrich Visser Member Agricultural Research Council
Dawie Ras Member NUMPRO
Jan van Zyl Member Table potato producers
Rudi Heinlein Member Table potato producers

The Council is responsible for the formulation of policy guidelines in respect of the Scheme, as well as to see to it that the Scheme is applied efficiently and sustainably in the interest of the total potato industry.  It is furthermore the Council’s duty to continually evaluate the Scheme in order to introduce amendments in the interest of the potato industry and to oversee the application of the Scheme as set out in the regulations approved by the Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries.

The seed potato growers are organised in regional seed potato committees which in turn have representation on the Council and the National Seed Potato Committee in terms of the number of hectares registered, the number of bags certified, as well as the number of seed growers per region.

The Executive Committee of the Council is made up of the Chairman of the ICCSP, the Chairman of the National Seed Potato Committee as well as the Managing Director of Potato Certification Service.  

Potatoes South Africa| Potato Laboratory Services| Prokon